book categories

< back

see larger version

Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Vol.2: A Kingdom on the Waves (2008)

Author: Anderson, M.T. Publisher: Candlewick Press
Number of pages: 592 pages

Sequel to The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Vol. 1: The Pox Party (Candlewick, 2006). Fearing a death sentence, Octavian and his tutor, Dr. Trefusis, escape through rising tides and pouring rain to find shelter in British-occupied Boston. Sundered from all he knows -- the College of Lucidity, the rebel cause -- Octavian hopes to find safe harbor. Instead, he is soon to learn of Lord Dunmore's proclamation offering freedom to slaves who join the counterrevolutionary forces. In Volume II of his unparalleled masterwork, M. T. Anderson recounts Octavian's experiences as the Revolutionary War explodes around him, thrusting him into intense battles and tantalizing him with elusive visions of liberty.

ISBN 13: 978-0763646264
Reading Level (grade): 8.1